Gen-Y: Are we really too entitled?

I just came from an interview, one of which I was hired for, but as I sit here and type this post, I’m only thinking of turning it down. Why? It’s not because I applied for it for shits and giggles. I didn’t apply because I wasn’t interested in the job itself. Nor was it because I would have no idea what the job entailed going into it. I am going to turn it down because I am not getting paid enough. This begs the question, should I really be turning down any job because of how the current job market is? Should I be turning down a job when I have rent and bills to pay?

Yeah, I am going to turn down this job because I feel like I should be given a higher hourly with the amount of work that I know I am going to be doing. I know, find a job that you love and you won’t feel like you worked a day in your life. But at this day and age, that is easier thought than done. Without the proper education, you won’t find the career that you’ll love the moment they ask you if you want to join their team.

It’s a stressful process, looking for jobs, especially when, like me, I have the education and the experience to back it up. I’m trying not to be too distressed about it but it does get to be a tad overwhelming.

I’m still holding my head up high, in hopes that I do find the job that I know will be right for me and that I’m not settling for. I know I’m worth something and that I need whoever is going to hire me, know this as well.

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

