New Beginnings

Two days. Two days is all it took to… reconsider how my life is right now and how much I don’t.. like it.

I started a new job yesterday. A sandwich shop in one of the more creative parts of the city and I was nervous but I was really excited. I was looking forward to being surrounded by food made with a lot of love + care and people who love food and the great company that can accompany that. I felt the ambition in the space as soon as I walked in. I felt at ease the moment the rest of the team piled in from the first cold, snowy day in the city. It was a feeling I had forgotten how much I’ve missed. I am so grateful to all the opportunities I’ve been given thus far but I’ve also forgotten why I began the career path that I chose. It was never about the money but instead it was always, always about the need to wake up every morning with wide-eyes and an open heart towards a new day with work that I don’t consider work because I love it so much. I thought I found my career. I’m learning that things happen for a reason and I was meant to move on but I wasn’t ready yet. I’m still looking for that career but I’m doing it in my own way, at my own pace. Not one that I feel is unproductive but at a pace that lets me not feel guilty about considering, reconsidering, and having the possibility of turning something down because I don’t feel like it’s the job for me.

I’ve always been a runner. When something scares me, when something makes me uncomfortable, when I think something is better off without me; I run and I don’t like looking back. But I’m beginning to realize that it’s not wrong to run away. I can run towards all the amazing things that are waiting for me at the end of the road wherever that is.

Keep posted guys, I’ll be posting something about the new sandwich shop! I’m not biased here, you’ll believe me when you get to experience it yourself… It’s going to be pretty fantastic.

Cheers.

Leave a Reply

