Me vs. Them

I’d like to think that I have a healthy competitive nature. One of the research projects that I did in my psychology career was on Altruism and whether or not anyone can achieve true altruism. I argued that no one can, that there will always be an underlying need for reciprocity. Now I don’t want to sound hypocritical because I will in a few seconds but I genuinely think that I can be truly altruistic sometimes. Sometimes being the bolded word here. I will admit to doing things because I want to look good in front of my bosses and superiors or wanting to be recognized as someone who has a good heart with selfless actions. But I do have moments where I can hear about a complete stranger and be genuinely elated with their accomplishments. Moments where I read in the paper that someone decided to buy a cup of coffee for the person behind them (I don’t think this is an altruistic act as this was the event that I focused on when I was doing my research..) and I thought that was really nice because I don’t think I’ve ever done that. I’d like to think that when I compare myself to someone else, it’s a healthy way to do so because I don’t sit there and sulk and wonder why I haven’t done anything to receive such accolades but instead it becomes motivation. I decide that because I can feel such pride in someone else for doing such hard work, for showing how much they can care about something, that I can do the same. That I can strive to work hard without needing someone to recognize it but instead because I want to feel the same feeling of pride in myself that I just had with a complete stranger.

I felt inspired to write this post because I had just heard about someone finishing their Master’s thesis, completing it with a total of 140 pages! That’s a feat in of itself but I’d also like to think that it’s because they were so passionate about what they were studying that it wasn’t as hard for them as we’d think. Work is no longer work when you love what you do, right?

S/O to my Chef! You’re all done your MA!! Presenting in a couple days and you’re becoming this worldly + endearing (among other charming words that I can’t seem to think of right now) gentleman, and I couldn’t be more proud. Love you bro! Thanks for always keeping my head up.

Leave a Reply

