“What Day Is It?”

I have begun to notice that I ask this question one too many times, daily. The usual small-talk questions about how your day is going, what do you have planned for the rest of the day, always seem to follow this response from me. It seems to carry a chuckle from the other person but I’m a little saddened at the idea that the days are passing me by and I really haven’t noticed.

Next week is December. 3 months from then is my birthday. I turn 25. The big 2-5. I’ve lived for a quarter of a century. I’ve lived all these days and I can’t properly keep track of what day of the week it is.

These past couple months have been tough ones but I don’t want the new year coming with no real memories of the past one. I learned the hard way that if I just coast through my days, I won’t notice the little things, that later were big things, that my gut was telling me to listen to.

Realizing that every day have just been days to get through as of recently instead of days that I want to remember isn’t easy. But I’m not one to fail because I didn’t try at all.

Cheers.

Photo on 2014-11-25 at 8.21 PM
(I’m sitting on my kitchen counter as the hockey game goes on. Hungrrrrrry but the stomach pains won’t let me eat. Sad me.)

Leave a Reply

