How The Year Before My Quarter-Life Crisis Is Helping Me Now

I may be writing a lot of birthday related posts but give me a break I’ve only been 25 and “working through” my quarter-life crisis for less than 2 weeks.

Turning 24, I thought it was going to be a big year. You know another year older, another year wiser (at least more wiser than I was previously). It was the year before I turn the big 2-5. I think it’s my generation’s “big 30;” they didn’t have “quarter-life crisis” before us, right?

So what did I learn during my year as a 24-year old? I learned a lot about myself. I learned that my patience wanes really fast, it isn’t fickle as it does understand how to focus it’s efforts but it does move on. I learned that I love really deep. I learned this the hard way and I’m still hoping it isn’t something I’ll regret. I learned that I will always try to fly close enough to the sun to feel it’s warmth because I know I can make it, no matter what people might tell me. I learned that life sucks sometimes and it’s easy to want to lay down and take it. I learned that no matter how much life sucks there will be the ones who pick you back up when you’ve already given up. I learned that I’m better knowing what I don’t like versus what I do like.

What else did I learn turning 24? I learned that,  “Life sucks! Then it gets better, and then it sucks again.” But I got through it and now that I’m in my quarter-life crisis year, I’m trying to live it the best way I can. I think that the year before you turn 25 is harder then the year you turn 25. Here, you have all the pressures and “deadlines” but it’s like people understand. The year before, if you freak out, no one gets why.

But you know what? No matter how old you are, you’ll have days and months, maybe even the entire year where you feel like you’re running in circles. It. Is. Okay. Life is scary but it’s worth it.

Cheers.

Leave a Reply

