Sunday Morning

How was everyone’s first week of the new year? Mine was a whirlwind to say the least and it has yet to really slow down.

But I’m ready to take it on.

I woke up to a 4am text from my boyfriend – which has it’s reputation for being our “overly cute and romantic” hour – just saying all the right things.

Moving to Edmonton was a big step for me and the ones who matter in my life, were all too supportive of my decision to do this. I had plans to do it and it was put off a little bit but then I decided that I was going to do it and nothing was going to stop me.

When I moved out here, there were a lot of unexpected things that came along and it through me for a loop. As per usual, I needed my tribe to help me through it. One of those things was trying a long distance relationship. Across the board, it wasn’t the best idea for me, they said. I should focus on me right now, was their advice. I decided that I was going to take a leap, like I did with the move, and try this relationship.

2016 is slowly but surely becoming a year where I’m going to focus a lot on myself. I have so many plans and goals that I know I will achieve this year. I’m nervous and excited and scared but I’m constantly reminding myself it’s because it’s important to me and that’s why I have all these emotions.

One of the people that I have to thank for the constant motivation and inspiration is the very person everyone told me to put aside for now so I could focus on myself. I am so happy that I took a chance with this guy. We’re both on the same path and we both want to end up together at the end of those paths. He never has to worry about me because he trusts that I’m good and that gives me the confidence to look after me. I never have to worry about him because I know he’s good and that he’ll reach every single one of his goals and that I will always be the support and extra confidence he needs.

This is the second week of the new year, kids. Make it another great one.

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

