My Person

I’ve moved a lot since I was born.

Moving from my home country. Moving from different areas of the city because of work for my parents, schools for me, and houses that out grew my family. Moving out of my parents’ hard earned abode, moving twice after that, then finally moving out of the province on my own.

So I have some experience.

I was too young to remember if I cried when I moved from the Philippines. I was always really sad when we moved houses and I had to move schools – but all were still at a younger age so I wasn’t really attached to anything or anyone, I guess. The rest of the moves had me crying for reasons that weren’t because I was leaving behind a house or a city that I was so anxious to leave.

Then I met you. Deciding on a long-distance relationship was easy to say but it wasn’t something I’ve done before and I had no idea what we were getting into.

Our first “good bye” didn’t have us labeled as anything official and we had no idea where we were going to go from there but I cried. A lot. And for the first time in my life, all I could do was think about how much I wanted to go back to you and I hadn’t even left yet. When I got here, all I needed was to see you and I wanted to go back. So you (finally) caved and decided to start the visits and from there we had bumps but then it got easier and easier.. it was so easy. That’s what started it all. How much harder it got, every day – especially the days after a weekend or two weeks for Christmas – there was something missing.

So here I am writing this post and thinking, “I’ve never cried over leaving a place… WTH.” Then I couldn’t help but smile when I knew… You’re my Home. Wherever you are is where I want to be and when I have to leave my Home, there will always be something that sits heavy.

You continue to “surprise” me every day and yesterday wasn’t any exception. I was scared when I knew that I shouldn’t have been but the need to tell you was stronger than just ignoring it and never bringing it up. From that we decided on a date. Sort of haha. But I’m “excited.”

 

Leave a Reply

