One Year

One year ago today, I moved into the newest phase of my life and I was scared and excited and anxious and I wanted to keep moving.

One year ago today, I lasted less than 24 hours before I was homesick and I wanted nothing more than to see my boyfriend.

It’s officially been a year since all I knew changed and I haven’t looked back since. But today, I think it’s okay that I miss all of that and remember what I had and left behind in the past year. I am also celebrating one of the best things that has ever happened to me and that’s the relationship that I’ve been so lucky enough to have had in the past year.

There’s a lot going on in my life right now that has me thinking about where I want to be in less than 4 years; mentally and physically it’s showing. I always try to have a solid foundation and a good head on my shoulders but after the past year, it really doesn’t seem like it’s going to be slowing down any time soon. And sure, I can do this. I know I can. I can be really critical about what I do and how I do things but I know that this is another thing that I can experience and get through. I just wish sometimes that it would slow down or that I didn’t have to do this all over again and again. I wanted it to be one last time. I was ready for it to be that last time. I hate being on the fence about life decisions and I’ve been making a lot of those lately. I’m at the point where I want to make a decision and follow it all the way through. I might be selfish and I might hurt.. people but I need to stop apologizing for thinking about what’s best for me and I need to understand that I need to stop doing things for everyone else because I always forget where I’m going and where I want to be, when I’m thinking about everyone else.

Songs and podcasts keep my head in the clouds lately and I don’t mind the break for a little while.

What do you guys do to take mental breaks? Share!

Cheers, kids.

Leave a Reply

