Nerd Talk

So far, this city has officially made me feel like I’ve out grown it. The newest addition to my adventures, has proven in less than one week, that I shouldn’t be scared of wanting bigger and better things.

I’ve been digging a really deep hole into this new company and so far I think they’re teaching me more about what I want and where I want to be through their practices and beliefs for their employees than I am learning about them. The creative world is so fascinating and I miss that. I forgot what it was like to have an environment where you’re learning something new every day. Where they embrace ideas and friendly competition and the work + life balance. I always believed that having a work family is what I want when I find my career. Then I read in one of the companies that inspires the company I was researching, that they don’t see their company as a family. They believe in teams. They believe that they will honor the movement of hard work and motivation and be inspired by the individuals who empower that but they will cut those who can’t rise to the rest. It blew my mind. The most recent experiences that I’ve had, left me with the deepest emotions when I left because they were my family. Some I was closer to than others but that’s normal; but at the end of the day I’d do what I had to do to help them and protect them when they needed me. So, why would I want to be part of a company that doesn’t see that? Because they understand that they need to raise the bar high for their team to work at their best potential. When you see your team as a family, you are emotionally invested. You may let them slide sometimes because you understand them and whatever personal demands they might be going through. You might expect more from them but you care more about their well-being than you do about the team as a whole, or the company as a whole. So when you start seeing your team as a team; they need to work together to produce results that are good for the whole. Results that will set the expectations to levels that are good for the long-term. Having everyone work together as a team also signifies the very essence of what makes a good team: the whole is bigger than the sum of its parts.

I’m still reading into the other companies that have inspired the company that I’m doing my ritual research into and I am left with so much admiration and motivation because of how they wanted to create and they went ahead and did that.

My week already feels like it’s going to have a busy start then depending on how all of that goes, I don’t think it’s going to stop.

Hope everyone had a great weekend!

Cheers.

Leave a Reply

