Cooking Therapy

So I feel emotions a lot deeper than most people do; I know that about myself. Sometimes, I don’t understand why I’m feeling sad or really frustrated or sometimes, it feels like a heavy overwhelming feeling if it’s a lot of joy. Knowing this, I have to tread carefully because I can project those feelings even when they’re not mine.

And that’s where cooking comes into play. Instead of shopping for me (well, not instead of but it’s not my “go-to”), I cook. But this is the caveat to my love for cooking; I need to cook happy. I have this *weird* belief that when someone cooks in a less than tempered mood, those who eat it can feel it; and who would want to eat less than joyous food?

Usually when I get in to the mood to cook, I cook a lot because I love cooking. I get inspired by some of my favorite food blogs or Pinterest and my day gets better from there. But when I’m not in the mood to cook or I’m not in the best mood, I prefer not to do it because of that belief. Lately, I’ve been finding myself needing to do it to make my mood better. When I cook sad, I really don’t like that I do it because my food feels and looks sad. I had a good friend of mine tell me that I’m not communicating well because I still cook and they would never understand that I feel this way because they just see it as being fed; food is food.

I hated hearing that and as much as I hate to admit it, it really hit too close. I didn’t like it.

And that’s where I am right now. Life is good in this beautiful city but some days lately, it’s been harder to remember that.

Hope everyone is having a great weekend!

 

Cheers.

Leave a Reply

